Hillbilly-Music.com - Keeping Country Music History Alive
Hillbilly-Music Folio Display

 Who Kentucky Music Hall of Fame
 What Twelve 'Pioneers' To Be Inducted
 When May 17, 2002
 Where Renfro Valley, KY
 Source Kentucky Music Hall of Fame

Grand Opening

The Grand Opening of the long-awaited Kentucky Music Hall of Fame and Museum took place on Friday, May 17, 2002. An estimated 1000 people came to view the ribbon-cutting ceremony and tour the museum. Some of the people taking part in the ceremony were: First Lady Judi Patton (Honorary Co-Chair with Loretta Lynn) and David Jury, Chair of the Board of Directors. From the Leadership Cabinet, Frank Shoop; Carl Hurley, Master of Ceremonies; Representative Danny Ford; Senator Albert Robinson; Congressman Hal Rogers; Judge N. Mitchell Mead, Harold Mullins and the Sparks Family. Mrs. Margaret Everly, mother of The Everly Brothers, was also in attendance.

Entertainment was provided by the world-famous saxophonist, Boots Randolph; Country Singer/Songwriter Tom T. Hall; Dean Osborne and Eastbound; and designer of the Hall of Fame awards, Ken Gastineau.

Museum hours are Tuesday-Saturday, 10:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m.; Sunday, 1:00 - 5:00 p.m., Closed on Monday.

Admission prices during our Grand Opening month are $5/adults; $4/groups & seniors; $3.50/child (6-11); and $2/school groups

Twelve 'Pioneers' To Be Inducted Into New Kentucky Music Hall Of Fame

RENFRO VALLEY, Kentucky (November 9, 2001) -- Twelve “Pioneers” of Kentucky music will be inducted into the new Kentucky Music Hall of Fame & Museum on February 28, 2002, the Hall of Fame’s Induction Committee has announced. The new museum is scheduled to open in Renfro Valley in May, 2002.

The 12 inductees in alphabetical order are: Rosemary Clooney, The Everly Brothers, Red Foley, Tom T. Hall, Grandpa Jones, Bradley Kincaid, John Lair, Loretta Lynn, Bill Monroe, The Osborne Brothers, Jean Ritchie, and Merle Travis.

The statewide Advisory Board and Induction Committee required that in the inaugural induction class of 2002 only “Pioneers” of Kentucky music will be elected. Pioneers are defined as “those who shaped or so profoundly affected the evolution of music that it prepared the way of others who followed.”

In addition, the inaugural class must be at least 70 percent from the country and bluegrass genres of music. “Contemporaries,” defined as artists who began their careers after 1960, will be eligible for induction in 2003.

The Induction Committee, Advisory Board and Governing Board of Directors spent many long hours developing a specific list of criteria which had to be met to be considered for induction, including the candidate must have been born or lived in Kentucky, must have left an indelible impact on the music industry, and must have been a professional in the music industry for at least a decade.

Kentucky Music Hall of Fame & Museum

 Contact Rob Rumpke
Kentucky Music Hall of Fame

(859) 351-2447


Yes, Hillbilly Music. You may perhaps wonder why. You may even snicker. But trust us, soon your feet will start tappin' and before you know it, you'll be comin' back for more...Hillbilly Music.

Hillbilly-music.com ...
It's about the people, the music, the history.